Curriculum Overview

Settlebeck School pride itself on its broad and balanced curriculum which is tailored to ensure that the individual needs of all our students are met. Our curriculum has been designed to help our students achieve the highest of standards and is underpinned by our belief in the limitless potential of our students. We aim to make our curriculum challenging. We believe in ensuring a curriculum experience that gives every young person the best possible opportunities for a successful future. All our students will experience lessons and activities that are exciting, relevant and, at times, deliberately difficult. We teach our students to be resilient and offer them a balanced and rich experience which will equip them to succeed in the rapidly changing world. We also ensure a high quality PHSE programme, provide relevant careers guidance and offer curriculum enrichment opportunities outside of normal lesson time. We strongly believe that all young people are entitled to a broad curriculum offer which allows them to thrive.

Year 7 and 8

At Settlebeck School we teach Year 7 & 8 in mixed age classes. This allows our small school to set by ability in some subject areas whilst ensuring the needs of every individual student are met.

Subjects studied
Subject English Maths Science Geography French History Art Catering Drama ICT Music PE Product Design PSHE RE
No. of Lessons 4 4 4 2 2 2 1 2 1 1 1 2 2 1 1

At the end of Year 8 students choose 3 subjects to study alongside the core curriculum. The majority of students study GCSE but for a small number of students a more bespoke curriculum offer is created to meet need.

Years 9 -11

Subjects studies

Subject English Maths Science PE RE/PHSE Option 1 Option 2 Option 3
No.of lessons 5 5 6 2 3 3 3 3

If you would like any further information, please use the contact details below:

Subject Name Email
English Ms Ingham inghams@settlebeck.org
Maths Mrs Berry berrya@settlebeck.org
Science Ms Queen queens@settlebeck.org
French Ms East easts@settlebeck.org
Geography Mr Martin martind@settlebeck.org
History Mr Walker walkerm@settlebeck.org
Art Ms Robertson robertsone@settlebeck.org
Catering/Food and Nutrition Mrs Waring waringh@settlebeck.org
Computing Mrs Berry berrya@settlebeck.org
Design Technology Mrs Williams williamss@settlebeck.org
Drama Mr Pattison pattisont@settlebeck.org
Media Mr Richmond richmondn@settlebeck.org
Music Mr Pattison pattisont@settlebeck.org
Physical Education Mr Richmond richmondn@settlebeck.org
Religious Studies Mrs Campbell campbells@settlebeck.org
Special Educational Needs Mr Richardson richardsonl@settlebeck.org
Menu